In Memoriam: AMF Life President, Guy Parson OBE

The AMF is very sad to announce the death of Guy Parsons OBE. He was one of the charity’s founding Trustees and served as Treasurer and then Life President for many years. His memory lives on through his connection with the Portland House Foundation, who in recent years have sponsored an AMF award in his name, enabling a variety of talented young Australians to continue their musical studies overseas. We are most grateful for his long service and we send our deepest condolences to his family.

Connor D'Netto, new composition premiered at Royal College of Music, April 2019

AMF alumnus, composer Connor D'Netto, recently collaborated with fellow RCM composer Matthew Lomax, the Central School of Ballet and chamber orchestra Cat’s Cradle Collective, in a multimedia ballet, presented as part of the Royal College of Music’s Great Exhibitionists series. Entitled 'non place', the concert-length work is abstractly based around the writings of French anthropologist Marc Auge, and brings together over 30 dancers, a new electroacoustic score for chamber orchestra, live electronics, and live visuals transforming footage from around London into an immersive projection display.

Connor (left) and Matthew are pictured with AMF Trustee, Dr Margaret Mayston AM, after the performance at the Britten Theatre, Royal College of Music, on 26 April.

Listen to a recording of Connor's Second String Quartet, which will be performed by the Australian String Quartet at the Australian Festival of Chamber Music, where Connor has been named Composer in Residence:…/string-quartet-no-2-in-e-minor-liv…

Emily Sun wins Tagore Gold Medal and is selected for the Queen Elisabeth Violin Competition

AMF Awardee, Emily Sun, who recently won the ABC Young Performers Award in Sydney, has been selected as the only Australian to take part in the 19th Queen Elisabeth Violin Competition in Belgium at the end of April. More information and interview with Limelight Magazine:

Photo shows Emily receiving her Tagore Gold Medal at the Royal College of Music from HRH The Prince of Wales, Patron of both the RCM and the AMF.

Many congratulations to Emily on these wonderful achievements.

AWC Australia Day luncheon at Spring, Somerset House, London

Many thanks to the Australian Women's Club in London for inviting AMF Chairman Yvonne Kenny and alumni saxophonist Amy Dickson and soprano Samantha Clarke to their Australia Day luncheon at Skye Gyngell's restaurant, Spring, at Somerset House. The focus was on celebrating young Australian talent, and the AMF are most grateful for the generous donation presented by AWC President Helen Sargent.

L to R: Amy Dickson, Yvonne Kenny, Samantha Clarke

Photo credit: Louis Amore Photography

AMF partners with Australia-United Kingdom Chamber of Commerce

Many thanks to the Australia-United Kingdom Chamber of Commerce for inviting the AMF to be part of their Australia Day Gala at Simpsons at the Savoy on 29 January. The glamorous event included performances by three AMF alumni - soprano Samantha Clarke, pianist David Soo and violinist Emily Sun. We are immensely grateful for the donation from the Australia-United Kingdom Chamber, raised through a percentage of the ticket sales and the proceeds of the raffle. Thanks again for a fabulous evening.

Photo shows L to R: Dick Porter, Elizabeth Rossiter, Emily Sun, Yvonne Kenny, David Soo, Samantha Clarke, Elizabeth Ames and Lord Broers.

Photo credit: Peter Livingstone.

AMF Chairman Yvonne Kenny AM at Australia House Centenary

AMF Chairman Yvonne Kenny attended a reception at Australia House on 22 November for the unveiling of a new portrait of AMF Patron in Chief, HRH The Prince of Wales, and the performance of This House, commissioned by the AMF from Australian composer Joe Chindamo. The piece was played by musicians from Australia and New Zealand, including AMF alumni. Yvonne is pictured with Australian singers from Phantom of the Opera, Amy Manford and Paul Ettore Tabone, along with actor Brendan Cowell and Timothy Walker AM, Chief Executive of the London Philharmonic Orchestra.